An Overview of the MLB AL West Division

Charles “Chuck” Scroggs of Rockwall County, Texas, currently serves as president of Southwest Scaffolding, LLC, and C and D Commercial Services, Inc. Beyond running his Rockwall County businesses, Chuck Scroggs is particularly supportive of the Texas Rangers, who play in the American League Western Division, more commonly referred to as the AL West.

The AL West is one of the three American League divisions and six total divisions that make up Major League Baseball (MLB). Of the six teams that initially comprised the division in 1969, only the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim and Oakland Athletics (Oakland A’s) remain, though Anaheim played as the Californian Angels at the time. The other founding AL West teams include the Chicago White Sox, the Kansas City Royals, the Minnesota Twins, and the Seattle Pilots, later renamed as the Milwaukee Brewers.

In addition to the A’s and Angels, the current division features the Seattle Mariners and two Texas teams, the Houston Astros and Texas Rangers. The A’s have won the division a record 16 times, followed by the Angels at 9 and the Rangers with 5 division wins. The AL West division has produced eight World Series winners, including the Angels in 2002, a squad that became only the second wild card team ever to win the World Series.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s